Emotion, Horror

There is nothing quite like watching a piece of writing evolve from draft to draft. To this end, I’m absolutely elated to see the story I have been working on for over a year now taking a more definitive shape. I have poured so much of myself into this story; not necessarily in terms of characterisation, although that is certainly true to a degree, but in terms of feeling and personal philosophy. I think one of the things I love most about books – and this is especially true of horror fiction – is the emotion that they can evoke. If nothing else, horror is about emotion; a genre brought to life by fear, terror, repression and the constant struggle for characters (and their writers) to overcome these things, or at least negotiate with them. If I can one day share this latest struggle with the world through a couple of hundred pages, I’ll be a very happy man.

