Girlwithapen

223579_340473459390605_2015058176_n

While my passion lies with the pen, I am a big advocate of cross-media inspiration. Literature, music, painting, sculpture, metalwork, even food, can all inspire each other to new heights of creative flair. They can also tell us things about a theme or concept that might not be so obvious in a different medium. Mostly I appreciate seeing someone’s ideas transform as they are shaped by another artist, in another form of art. I think this is what it is all about, when it comes down to it; the expression of ideas, the sharing of ideas, the interpretation of these ideas, and so forth.

image wolf edit one

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Earlier in the year I approached Tida Bradshaw about interpreting the opening scene of my upcoming book, LYNNWOOD, in a piece of artwork. She did this wonderfully, and the resulting black-and-white drawing, ‘Into The Trees’, can be seen in past blog posts (see ‘Creative Collaboration‘). Around the same time, however, I also commissioned a local artist, Jemma Gorrod (girlwithapen), to explore my story in her own surreal style. The quirky results can be seen below.  Jemma was most inspired by two aspects of the book – the Forest and the idea of the human animal masquerading as a creature of society. I think she has done a wonderful job taking these ideas and exploring them in her own distinctive style to create a series of truly striking images.

image (4) IMG_0003_NEWladywhite IMG_0160 IMG_0247

