Guillermo del Toro

When not writing or reading I watch a lot of films. Inspiration means so much where creativity is concerned – see my last post re: music – and movies are a big influence. They expose the viewer to themes, characters, settings etc. that they might not otherwise have considered and can turn to their own hand.

Ever since I first saw Guillermo del Toro’s Pan’s Labyrinth, I was enamoured with his vision, which sees fairy tale themes and motifs emerge in dark, twisted ways. The Orphanage soon followed; a much more melancholic but no less haunting film about a missing child. And I doubt there was anyone more excited in the cinema than I when Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark started playing. All three films made swift additions to my DVD collection.

You can understand my excitement, then, when he announced the release of a new film: Mama. The terrifying trailer revealed del Toro trademarks – two girls go missing in the woods, and are only found five years later. Having been left to their own devices, they have turned feral, so it falls to their uncle to re-civilise them. Except they have not emerged from the forest alone…

I will direct you to an excellent review of the film by Michael Juvinall, writing for ‘Horror Society’. The film is not out in the UK yet but it has already been released across the Atlantic. I will also suggest you watch the 3-minute film below, on which del Toro’s expansion is based. It should demonstrate some of the creepiness that inspired del Toro himself.

‘A mother’s love is forever.’

