Wolf Song

This August marked my debut post with Pen of the Damned, an online writing community dedicated to the celebration of dark fiction. For my introductory piece I wanted something that would stand out, as well as announce my style, voice and some themes that are recurrent in my writing. For these reasons, I opted to share ‘Wolf Song’.

I talk in more detail about the process of writing the story at my Dark River Press blog, Horror Penned, but let it be said here that I wanted to create a surreal, haunting piece of fiction that resonated with emotion and atmosphere. I opted for primal themes/imagery to achieve this, nurturing a sense of tragedy – not just within the narrative, but in the societal subtext, too.

Anyway, I give you ‘Wolf Song‘. This is my first WordPress post, so I can only assume it is going to work! Read, feel and enjoy.

